YOU HAVE FOUR DAYS TO LOCATE FIVE TREASURED TROPHIES. BREAK THE RULES AND YOU ALL DIE. HAPPY HUNTING!

 

Back in September, the town of Bakersville, Ohio made national news when a video went viral featuring thirteen of the high school’s elite in compromising positions. Now it’s May, and every month since the “Bakersville Dozen” made their infamous appearance on the national stage, one girl has gone missing. Officials are no closer to identifying the criminal.

Bailey “Like a Virgin” Holzman is getting really fed up with the scrutiny. She just wants to enjoy the rest of her senior year and have an epic summer before heading off to college. So when she discovers a note in her locker on the last day of school inviting her on a scavenger hunt, she thinks it’s just a sweet surprise from her boyfriend trying to cheer her up.

But following the clue leads her, instead, to the first official casualty. And another sinister envelope. The killer is close, and it could be anyone. Even the people Bailey’s always trusted most—her best friend, her perfect boyfriend, or the boy-next door she’s always pined for.

With the clock ticking, she faces a terrifying choice: play the game by the killer’s rules—follow the clues, tell no one, and no cops—for a chance to save the rest of the missing girls, or risk becoming the next grisly victim.

The latest heart-pounding thriller from Kristina McBride blends elements of Gone Girl, Pretty Little Liars, and Stephen King into a story that will leave you guessing until the final pages.

Publication Date: July 4, 2017

 

Praise for THE BAKERSVILLE DOZEN:

McBride’s prose is vivid, creating a tense atmosphere tainted with secrecy and lies. Teens will devour this mystery. VERDICT For fans of “Gossip Girl” and “Pretty Little Liars,” this thriller is recommended for general purchase for YA shelves. –School Library Journal

 

Fans of R.L. Stine’s Fear Street series and Gretchen McNeil’s Ten will love this intense chiller, with psychological suspense and romantic drama that add to the fast pace and confusion Bailey feels as she tries to discern who she can trust. The video, and the inability to remove it from the internet as it continues to impact the girls’ lives, is a sad reflection of the frustrating reality of sexual harassment in our digital age. –RT Book Reviews

 

From the painfully high stakes to the heart-pounding timeline, this twisty thriller left me breathless! McBride’s tale hits eerily close to home, too, reminding us how quickly things can turn from bad to much, much worse. –Natalie D. Richards