My name is Kristina McBride.

I write books.

 Welcome to my website.

Follow Me!

Buy Now!

Launch Party Fun – A MILLION TIMES GOODNIGHT

The launch party for my latest title, A MILLION TIMES GOODNIGHT, was hosted by Books & Co at The Greene in Beavercreek, Ohio on August 4, 2016. The store itself is gorgeous, a place that I envisioned myself signing years before I’d ever completed my first novel. I’m so fortunate to work with Sharon Kelly Roth, the events coordinator at Books & Co, who is super kind and supportive and always makes sure things run smoothly. I’m also fortunate to have so many supporters. The crowd that gathered was full of familiar faces, some people I’ve known most of my life, others I’ve just recently met, and yet more who I met for the first time as I signed copies of the book.

As I sit here typing, going over the events of last night, I am overwhelmed with gratitude. I am thankful for so many things – that this book is finally out, that I have such a strong network of friends and family to cheer me on, that the Dayton area is brimming with so much talent and that the authors in the area are so supportive of one another. I’m thankful for everything–the good, the bad, and the ugly–that brought me to this place in my life, because I really am living my lifelong dream.

 

Books, Books, Books!

The crowd

13880199_10103701291484018_7121245918437201718_n

 

My Boy

My GirlThe Write Sisters

More Sister Friends

 

Fred Marion, an upcoming Dayton-area author!

DSC07235
13876223_10206928205939664_1162756087888009971_n

DSC07241

DSC07229

13939606_10206928205979665_7360462443606159022_n

13879354_10153862564618131_6296232639484301036_n13925091_10206900988784228_1027747995707713881_n

13891950_10201794981953293_6872118238336477112_n

DSC07225

Launch Party Fun!

LaunchPartyInvite

Antioch Writers’ Workshop 2016 – My 20-Year Reunion

This year’s Antioch Writers’ Workshop marks the 20-year anniversary of my attendance as a participant. 20 years! This fact make me feel old. But it also makes me feel accomplished. It was a true honor to join the workshop as a seminar leader this year, taking on an afternoon session of fiction instruction. It’s amazing how close these small groups become over the course of the week – everyone putting everything out there, sticking with that uncomfortable feeling of vulnerability that only a writer can understand.

My group was amazing, ranging from the ages of 18 to 70-something, each participant supportive and inspiring, even while offering a critique. And boy were they brave, sharing their pieces without the anonymity of a screen name or the ability to hide in the murky waters that the internet provides. No, these people met live, face-to-face, for really really real. I had more than one student approach me in a complete, shaky-handed, My-piece-is-being-workshopped-tomorrow! panic. But they all worked through the fear and came out on the other side feeling like they had made some lifelong friends in the process.

I’d forgotten that part – the magical feeling of connection and unity that a workshop provides, with everyone there for one collective reason, to geek out on writing. And now, two weeks later, I’m missing my new friends who feel quite a bit like family, wishing them the best of the best in all endeavors, but especially when it comes to writing.

13692489_10208885747756462_5008862817489140973_n

Workshop days start with some very early mornings, which make for some gorgeous drives through backcountry farmland. The dew glistening on the grass and cornstalks feels like a million stories ripe for the picking.

 

13709983_10208885749636509_1087757583115965172_n

Antioch University Midwest, the site for the annual Antioch Writers’ Workshop.

 

13692568_10208885748116471_6381272462077023565_n

Dinner with some lifelong sister friends, Katrina Kittle and Sharon Short, just before my first ever reading from, A MILLION TIMES GOODNIGHT.

 

13728942_10208885753316601_1354813566320889144_n

My group of fiction writers. Lots of love here!

 

13728892_10208885753516606_8183518569856599052_n

All of us leaping for writerly joy. 

 

13659016_10208885751876565_4922667815143772364_n

Two exceptionally talented ladies, both chosen by my group to participate in the public evening reading.

 

 

13645110_10208885749676510_5400445012988610579_n

More lifelong writer friends – Sharon Short, Janet Irvin, Me, and Erin Flanagan.

 

13709961_10208885748956492_1579488270510317509_n

This iconic barn graces the field next to AUM. It’s been there as long as I can remember, going back decades to when I first visited the village of Yellow Springs, Ohio when I was in high school. (And now I feel even older.)

A Million Times Goodnight

The world around me fractured into a million tiny pieces. And I turned rightand leftin the space of one single breath.

An Official Moment

It’s Official! Contracts have been signed. And I can finally announce the good news!

My second title, ONE MOMENT, will be reissued in January of 2017 with Sky Pony Press.

I’m to-die-for in love with the new cover design, which I’ll share as soon as possible, and beyond excited that this title will be available again soon!

 

IMG_1744

Beavercreek High School – Summer Reading List

THE TENSION OF OPPOSITES has been chosen as a school-wide summer reading requirement for Beavercreek High School. Such an honor! That means every single student from grades 9-12 will read my very first novel. I’ll then visit the students at the end of August, leading large group assemblies where I’ll share my journey to publication, plus smaller writing workshops with creative writing students. I am beyond excited.

 

All of this, however, has opened up the tiny little issue of getting over 2,000 books to the Dayton area in a record amount of time. Now there are rumors that the book is out of print. Some people are feeling frustrated and confused (which I totally understand, trust me), so I thought it might be worth clarifying some of these issues.

 

First of all, THE TENSION OF OPPOSITES is NOT out of print. This title did, however, have a change of publisher when Egmont USA closed in January of 2015 (a very difficult time for many authors). Lerner Publishing took over the sales and distribution. Sadly, my second title, ONE MOMENT, is out of print, which I think fueled some of these rumors. Thankfully, this title will be reissued in January of 2017. With a new cover! Which I am to-die-for excited about.

 

Back to the issue at hand. How to find a copy of THE TENSION OF OPPOSITES? Like, now.

 

I have had contact with several area bookstores and have been assured that copies of THE TENSION OF OPPOSITES will be available by week’s end. The local library also has a large amount of copies on order. While the book is not available on Amazon (something I’m looking into), it is available to order online through Lerner Publishing. The cost is $8.99.

Click on the book cover below to follow the link to Lerner’s page for THE TENSION OF OPPOSITES.

 

Please accept my apologies for any confusion. I am beyond excited that this title has been chosen as a school-wide read and cannot wait to visit the students of Beavercreek High in a few short months!

 

9418997

Tagline

A Million Moments of Gratitude

Because this book is happening, in spite of a very tricky road to publication.

Because this book found new life after the closing of Egmont USA.

Because Alison Weiss and the folks at Sky Pony Press believed in this story.

Because this book will finally be available in July of 2016.

 

51psZl5aI4L

 

One night. Two paths. Infinite danger.

On the night of the big spring break party, seventeen-year-old Hadley “borrows” her boyfriend Ben’s car without telling him. As payback, he posts a naked picture of her online for the entire senior class to see.

Now Hadley has a choice: go back to the party and force Ben to delete the picture or raise the stakes and take his beloved car on a road trip as far away from their hometown of Oak Grove, Ohio, as she can get.

Chapters alternate to reveal each possible future as Hadley, her ex-boyfriend, Josh, and her best friends embark on a night of reckless adventure where old feelings are rekindled, friendships are tested, and secrets are uncovered that are so much worse than a scandalous photo.

Like a teen Sliding Doors, A Million Times Goodnight is a fast-paced romantic contemporary thriller for fans of Just Like Fate and Pivot Point.

It’s Official!

The news is live and finally I can share! My next two titles have been picked up by Sky Pony Press!

The Details:

Kristina McBride’s A MILLION TIMES GOODNIGHT, in which an Ohio teen girl grieving the loss of a friend, spends the night of her life in two alternate strands of time by getting revenge on her ex with the help of a boy who might be responsible for her friend’s death, for publication in Summer 2016, and THE BAKERSVILLE DOZEN, in which thirteen Senior Class girls are exposed in a viral video, and the murders and disappearances among them that follow until one brave girl seeks answers, for publication in Summer 2017, moving to Alison Weiss at Sky Pony Press, by Alyssa Eisner Henkin at Trident Media Group (World English),

Books + People + Food = Fun!

I love a good book festival. Books + People + Food = Fun! The Pickerington Public Library’s YA Fest on July 25th was no exception. An all-day event, the PPL YA Fest offered guests the chance to mingle and chat with YA authors from a variety of genres, attend panel discussions, as well as the chance to soak up info presented during several writing workshops. The day was a whirlwind of fun and inspiration. Plus, there were food trucks. Books. And authors. Lots and lots of authors.

Now, I must take a moment to share how much I love authors, and how being part of such an amazing group is a totally exhilarating experience. First off, authors are awesome – funny and witty and sassy and smart. They bring treats to entice readers (which means I get extra chocolate for the day). And they understand me. The crazy part of me that obsesses over character traits and tangled plots, and the excited part of me that needs more books. Authors are supportive too, offering kind words and spot-on advice whenever needed. No matter how long I do this, I will always be honored to be part of a family of authors, those in Ohio and beyond.

11041177_10206239029990172_4388299100748398418_n

Demitria Lunetta, Me, Jody Casella, Kate Karyus

11751861_10206239029950171_7189425209839072722_n

Geoffrey Girard, Cinda Chima, Natalie Richards

11219321_10206239030550186_3174267840742365924_n

Me, Paul Melko, Mindee Arnett

11754253_10206239031350206_8835054983241286095_n

Me, Colleen Clayton, Lisa Klein

11755815_10206239030630188_2590618662149910171_n

The Authors

11813471_10206239030790192_7602233660281323594_n

And the all-important Goofy Shot

Categories
Links: